ASCC Law Justice Club Awards Member Achievement

By James Kneubuhl, ASCC Press Officer

Published on May 12, 2016

Criminal Justice Award ceremony recipients for the Law Justice Club.

Shortly before the conclusion of the spring 2016 semester, the Law Justice Club (LJC), one of the student organizations at the American Samoa Community College (ASCC), held its first Award Banquet to honor the achievements of its members and to bid farewell to graduating officers and members. The banquet took place poolside at the Tradewinds Hotel, with club President Liu Lafaele serving as the evening’s MC and “Those who dare, really do succeed,” a quote from Teresita M. Amendras, as the theme of the event.

       With most of the LJC’s nearly 40 members present, club advisor Utumoe Alefosio gave the opening Invocation, followed by welcoming remarks from chair-advisor Rosie Toeava. ASCC Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs Dr. Rosevonne Pato provided the evening’s special remarks, in which she commended the LJC for their community service and reminded them that the experience of public service is something they will take with them for the rest of their lives. Dean of Academic Affairs Mrs. Letupu Moananu honored the fall 2016 new officers by commencing the LJC Oath.  Okenaisa M. Fauolo, Director of the ASCC Samoan Studies Institute followed with the keynote address, in which she reminded the LJC members of the role that awareness of one’s identity plays in success. “Know who you are,” Fauolo advised, “and you will find genuine success.”

       To begin the awards segment of the event, all of the LJC members, officers and advisers were given recognition for their “membership, dedication and advisement” over the semester. This was followed by recognition of graduating club members Tomasi Schuster, Moni Logoleo, Sala Fairholt, Maurice Pabon, Rosary Love, Peter Ofoia, Liu Lafaele, Saili Toetu, Allen Hisatake, Dorothy Moeolo, Sue Fuafua and Herenee Asiata. Next, not one but six LJC members were awarded a Member of the Semester certificate each. These went to James Tunu, Belmira Salanoa, Nathan Togia, Lalovi Tugaga, Siigavaa Falealii and Tomasi Schuster.

       The LJC officially recognized its advisors, chair Rosie Toeava, faculty advisor Utumoe Alefosio, and staff advisors Saili Toetu and Jennifer Sua. The club also recognized the outgoing officers for spring 2016, Liu Lafaele (President), Fogasua Faapouli (Vice President), Esther Fiatoa (Treasurer) and Dorothy Moele (Secretary). Inducted as the LJC officers for the coming fall 2016 semester were Fogasua Faapouli (President), Esther Fiatoa (Vice President), Lalovi Tugaga (Treasurer) and Christian Lotomau (Secretary).

The objectives of the LJC include improving the relationship between students and the public through community service; providing students with opportunities to enhance their leadership skills; improving criminal justice educational activities; and fostering professionalism in law enforcement and its agencies. For more information on the club, contact Rosie Toeava at 699-9155, extension 332.