ASCC Awards Spring 2016 In-House Scholarships

By James Kneubuhl, ASCC Press Officer

Published on May 2, 2016

ASCC Scholarship recipients

The Division of Student Services at the American Samoa Community College (ASCC) has announced the recipients for the spring 2016 semester of the College’s two In-House Scholarships. In addition to recognizing outstanding academic performance, these scholarships also offer support to scholars who do not qualify for the federal PELL Grant or other financial aid resources available to most students in the Territory.

The Saili le Atamai Scholarship, a $500 award sponsored by the Student Government Association (SGA), is available to students who do not have access to federal financial aid, and goes this semester to Ms. Louwill Cazilo, Ms. Maria Ioane, Ms. Onosimo Tovola, and Ms. Rosalia Taotofi. The Presidential Merit Scholarship, valued at $500 and open for application to all ASCC students, has been awarded to Mr. Anthony Tuiolosega and Ms. Tamara Bailey.

Ms. Louwill Cazilo, 18, was born in Zamboagna City in the Philippines, and was a member of the National Honor Society while attending Marist Fa’asao High School, where she graduated in 2015. Ms. Cazilo has volunteered as a Hope House caretaker, and also a member of the Art Club while at Marist Faasao.

A citizen of Samoa, Ms. Rosalia Taotofi, 19, is Treasurer for Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA) campus organization, member of Student Association for Fa’asamoa (SAFF), volunteer caregiver of Hope House. Ms. Taotofi also graduated from Marist Fa’asao, where she participated in the National Honor Society and as a Hope House volunteer.

Ms. Maria Ioane, 21, is a citizen of Samoa who graduated from Tafuna High School, where she made the rank of First Sergeant in the Junior Reserves Officer Training Corps. Ms. Ioane has also been a volunteer caregiver at Hope House and has been active in her church, serving for the last five years as a Youth president and a bass player. Her active campus life includes membership in the SGA, the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society,  in accordance with her long-term goal of someday becoming a health professional.

Originally from Fiji, Ms. Onosimo Tovola, 20, also graduated from South Pacific Academy and has done volunteer work at the Hope House. “I am grateful and blessed at how my parents have supported me through school all along,” she said, “and receiving this scholarship is like finally helping them by being able to contribute to my education through my hard work and determination.”

Presidential Merit scholarship recipient Mr. Anthony Tuiolosega Tuiolosega graduated from Leone High School, where he was a National Honor Society member. At ASCC, Mr. Tuiolosega is active in both the PTK and the Psychology Club while carrying a triple-major of Liberal Arts, Architectural Drafting, and Accounting. Also receiving the Presidential Merit award is Ms. Tamara Bailey, who was born in American Samoa but completed high school in Dickinson, Texas. With a declared interest in both civil engineering and the health profession, Ms. Bailey currently serves as the President of the ASCC HOSA chapter, and is also a PTK member.

ASCC Dean of Student Services Dr. Emilia Le’i congratulated this semester’s In-House Scholarship recipients and wished them success in achieving their goals. “Our main mission is to serve the students of our Territory, “ she said, “but we are also proud to be an educational resource for our Pacific region and we offer what help we can to students who don’t have the same financial assistance advantages as those born locally or in the United States.” Both of the scholarships do not involve an actual cash award, but rather, is the amount deducted from each recipient’s overall costs of tuition, fees, and other expenses. ASCC awards its In-House Scholarships on a per- semester basis every spring and fall.

For more information on the College’s In-House Scholarships, contact the Division of Student Services by calling ASCC at 699-9155, extension 376.