ASCC-PTK Holds Fall 2022 Induction 

By James Kneubuhl, ASCC Press Officer

In what has become a tradition at the American Samoa Community College (ASCC), early in each spring and fall semester the ASCC-based Alpha Epsilon Mu chapter of the nation-wide Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society holds its induction ceremony for new members. The PTK chapter’s most recent induction took place on Tuesday, September 27th, welcoming 22 ASCC students into the ranks of the prestigious honor society as their family and friends joined them to celebrate the achievement. 

For each induction ceremony, the PTK invites an influential member of the community to make a keynote speech emphasizing the honor society’s core value of service to others. For the fall 2022 induction, ASCC and PTK alumnus Ms. Grace Felise provided the keynote speech. After graduating from ASCC, Felise attended Texas A&M University – Commerce, and has now returned home to work in the Department of Commerce (DOC), where she played a prominent role in organizing the DOC’s successful Coastal Weeks event last month. Felise’s keynote address touched on her own experience as a PTK member, which helped prepare her for the challenge of attending college in Texas. She encouraged the PTK inductees to persevere when pursuing their goals, and reminded them that serving their community provides an aspect of education not found in the classroom. 

Following Felise’s address, the PTK Officers led the new inductees through the traditional candle-lighting and recitation of the society’s oath of allegiance. This semester has seen a dramatic increase in PTK inductees, as the society proudly welcomed Mareko Solofa, Fiti Sagato, Ziyi Yu, Ayjah Leo, Luiama Tofaeono, Jeroleah Cathe Tapuitea Auvaa, Emmanuel Suemai, TJ Tigilau Jr. Fagota, Bruce Isaako, Talofa Fe’a, Saraiialii Gertrude Allen, Tutuila Fualefau, Tooa Valancia Faalogo, Cinaroselyn Suafo’a, Flaefa Tagoilelagi, Puline Paletina Toeleiu, Samantha Leulu Tupuola, Luisa Kisa Luafa, Telesia Atafua, Evis Takubala, Ivoga Sefika, and Alofamoni Fitiao. Assisting with the presentation of Stolls and Certificates of Membership were guest speaker Felise and ASCC Vice Presidents Mr. Sonny Leomiti and Mrs. Letupu Moananu. Vice President Moananu also shared words of encouragement with the inductees to bring the ceremony to its close. 

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programs. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American education today, with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters located in the 50 states and US territories, Canada and Germany. 

At ASCC, the society’s Alpha Epsilon Mu chapter is overseen by advisors Mr. Kuki Tuiasosopo, Dr. Ernie Seiuli and Mrs. Amete Mulipola-Moefiainu. PTK Officers for fall 2022 are Trish Buenavista (President), Janella Musni (Vice President), Nellie Lisala (Secretary), Natalee Aitaoto (Treasurer), and Duane Faoasau (PR Secretary). For more information on PTK activities and opportunities across the nation, visit their website: